A Fun Experiment!/Flourless PB bread

One of my favorite movies is Julie & Julia, based on the memoir by Julie Powell Julie & Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously & Julie Powell’s Blog where she tackled Julia Child’s 524 recipes from Julia’s book: “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” in 365 days. It is such a fun concept & so inspiring! I have decided to take that inspiration & tackle my 2,637 food pins from my Pinterest board & start cooking & baking! This will most definitely take longer than a year to complete & some recipes will be grouped together. I have a unique situation, as these recipes are mainly gluten free & vegan & those that aren’t, I pinned with the intention of vegan-izing & altering them to become gluten free. Some I will keep vegetarian for the sake of the recipe.

I should say that some of these pins have “50 gluten free breakfast ideas” & some tips, but I will tackle each & every recipe. Thank you, Julie Powell for your inspiration! I have been wanting to tackle this project ever since watching this movie. I began this morning & may take a day off here & there, but my goal will be 2 years. I have to try & control the urge to pin more recipes to that board! I hope you enjoy these recipes! I hope I do as well! LOL!!

Day 1: Flourless Peanut Butter Bread:  I made it with my own breakfast potatoes & spinach mix, along with homemade g-free/vegan sausage crumble, cut up cantaloupe & chocolate/peanut butter/banana smoothie.

The Pin on the Recipes board was for the breakfast bread & I wasn’t that pleased with it, as it was very dry & flavorless. So I drizzled Raw Organic Honey on top & it was much tastier! I suggested to my family as another option to put raspberry preserves on top & they liked that option better for them. It tasted almost like a PB & J, they commented.

Here is that recipe:
Flourless Peanut Butter bread with Breakfast this morning!
Ingredients:

1 Cup Smucker’s natural creamy peanut butter

3 large eggs *

1 tsp vinegar

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp granulated white sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease 2 mini loaf pans (at sizes of 3″ x 5″). I chose to put in 1 regular size loaf pan (4″ x 8″). It was easier for me & didn’t change the recipe’s dignity.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine all of the ingredients. Use a hand mixer to mix together until smooth.
  3. If using 2 mini pans, spread the batter equally between the two, or just toss it all into one pan, as I did. 😉
  4. Bake for 20 minutes (It says 25, but 20 was perfect-check at least in 20 & see if a toothpick inserted comes out clean)
  5. Let cool for approximately 10 minutes & serve slices with vegan butter, jam or preserves, more peanut butter & drizzle with honey or maybe even some maple syrup!

*If making these vegan, and omitting the eggs, I would highly recommend substituting 3 small or 2 regular sized bananas in place of the eggs. It may even give a nice sweet banana flavor to the bread as well as bind it together.

Have you tried this recipe & altered it in some way? How did you alter it? I’d love to know!

Hope you enjoy this new adventure I’m on!

Cocoa/peanut butter smoothie with breakfast
The cocoa/peanut butter smoothie

Fresh cantaloupe at breakfast today
Fresh cantaloupe

Potato & spinach mix for breakfast
Potato/spinach bowl

Gfree Vegan sausage crumble at breakfast
Homemade Gfree sausage scramble
Leave a Reply

